Quiz 2 17 2021

Now that we’ve studied Fouls by the RECEIVER during scrimmage kick plays (PSK), let’s look at fouls by the KICKERS during any free or scrimmage kick.

Penalties for fouls by Team K (other than kick catch interference) on any free or scrimmage kick may be enforced at the previous spot with the down repeated, or, at the succeeding spot when Team K will not be next to put the ball in play.  Or Team R may choose to enforce the penalty from the previous spot and replay the down.
 
During any free or scrimmage kick:
There is a foul by K
Other than kick catch interference (KCI has its own special enforcement)
K is not the next to put the ball in play
Carry over and enforce from the succeeding spot (Tack On!) if this choice is selected by Team R
 
#1 Receiver R27 catches the punt and returns it to the R-35 where he is tackled. Team K is flagged for holding.
 
RULING: Team R may choose to have the down replayed following enforcement of the penalty from the previous spot or to have first down and 10 following enforcement of either penalty from the spot where R27 was tackled. The clock starts on the snap.
 
#2 Team K punts on fourth down with the ball snapped at the K-40. The punt rolls out of bounds at the R-37. While the ball is alive, K79 clips at the R-30.
 
RULING: Team R may choose (a) to have the down replayed following enforcement of the penalty from the previous spot or (b) to have first down and 10 following enforcement of the penalty from the spot where the ball went out of bounds. In (a), the foul is by the team in possession during a scrimmage kick play, so the previous spot is the basic spot. Since the foul takes place beyond the basic spot, the penalty is from the basic spot. If accepted by Team R, the penalty is enforced from the previous spot, back to the K-25, and Team K will replay fourth down.
 
#3 On fourth down from the K22, punter K43 muffs the snap and, at the K-8, kicks the rolling ball through the end zone.
 
RULING: The result of the play is a safety and Team K would next put the ball in play with a free kick from the A-20. The succeeding spot enforcement does not apply because Team K will be next to put the ball in play.  If Team R accepts the penalty, Team K will replay fourth down after enforcement from the K-8 to the K-4. 

Quiz 2 17 2021
Word – 24.2 KB 27 downloads