Calibration Plays 10-13-21

 

  1. This is a legal block below the waist. Consistent with the new rule, both players are in the free blocking zone, both players are on their line of scrimmage, and the block is in the FBZ.  And finally, the block is an immediate, initial action following the snap.  Although the blocker has some slight hesitation before “firing out”, that is considered too slight for the block to not be considered immediate, and initial action.  Most importantly, the blockers “pad level” never rise, rather they continue forward and downward adding to the correct ruling that this is a legal block below the waist.
  2. #92 in white, the defensive end, first appears to be the subject of a double team block but the outside blocker misses and disengages. #92 then begins to slide to his outside into the running lane.  As the runner reaches the 9-yard line, #92 is now being materially restricted (grab and restrict hold), at the exact point of attack.  This is a correct call for holding.
  3. Usually when two players grab one-another, we stay away from calling holding. But in this case, you can see the WR initiate the holding action with the DB.  But we do not have a holding foul until the DB attempts to throw off the WR/blocker, and the WR/blocker then grabs and pulls him causing him to go to the ground.  And finally, the runner goes right by the location of the illegal block so we have no choice but to call holding.
  4. This action is not a foul. The DB crouches as the runner approaches.  We must interpret this act as an attempt to make a legal, low tackle on the runner.  The runner also crouches as he approaches in a legal attempt to confront the tackler and make additional yardage.  Unfortunately, a second tackler is now on the back of the runner adding to his crouch and forward motion.  The result is an unfortunate collision between the two players.  But this action is not intentional, is not intended to do harm to the opponent, thus it is legal.  No foul on this play.
  5. The mechanics by the LJ on this play are stellar. The LJ sees the ball arrive, sees the WR demonstrate control of the ball, turn to the inside and take a step, then plant his foot and change direction back to the outside when he is contacted by the defender.  The LJ correctly rules that enough time and action has occurred since securing the ball that she must rule fumble, thus she drops her bean bag and continues to officiate the fumble.  Once she judges that the defense now has possession of the ball and is down by rule, she closes to the play indicating the dead ball spot, immediately signals to stop the clock, and finally points indicating the change of possession.  Important Note:  If the umpire, who is viewing the runner from the inside, sees that the ball was not secured by the receiver prior to losing possession, he would come in and share that information so we could correctly change to call to an incomplete pass.