Calibration 10/27/21

Play #1 – No foul for ineligible downfield.  The pass is caught by the receiver at the neutral zone.  It is our philosophy that the player must be clearly beyond the neutral zone (not the expanded neutral zone) in order for us to judge the ball to be caught beyond the NZ.  If it were caught beyond on this play, then the ineligibles were clearly downfield when the ball left the passers hand.

 

Play #2 – It is imperative that only the referee make this call and seeing that he is the only one to rule on either pass or fumble, then all officials must officiate the play as if it is a fumble until the referee blows his whistle and signals incomplete pass.  In this case, the referee correctly sees that the QB’s arm is struck by the second defender and the QB begins to lose control of the ball prior to his arm going forward.  The referee, and the LJ throw their bean bags indicating a fumble, and the play continues until another official from farther away blows his whistle.  This is an inadvertent whistle following a change of possession so the team in final possession retains the ball at the spot of the IW.

 

Play #3 – The ball is not in view during this play until the runner comes out of the pile moving backwards as the defender attempts to strip the ball.  Prior to this, the progress of the runner is stopped at the 43-yard line assuming he has control of the ball.  If he still has control of the ball, as the defender begins to attempt to strip the ball, it is possible that the progress is again stopped, when the attempt to strip halts the runner’s progress (45-yard line).  But on this play the strip causes the ball to flip upward and the runner regains possession before his progress is stopped again at the 44-yard line this time.  Again, if the runner had possession when stopped at the 43-yard line, the ball should be spotted at the 43.

 

Play #4 – This is offensive holding.  The hold allows the running back to easily get through the line of scrimmage and into his passing pattern.  As the hold continues, it also keeps the defender off balance so he is not fully capable when he attempts to bat the pass down.  This is an example of the importance of the officials knowing and understanding the formations and design of the offensive and defensive plays during the game.

 

Play #5 – There is no foul for holding on this play.  This is a good example of a grab that develops into a grab and restrict material restriction, but, the result of the play is the runner being tackled behind this block.  Thus no advantage, or disadvantage.  No foul.

 

Play #6 – This is a foul for a late hit out of bounds.  The safety has every opportunity to see the action is coming to an end and that the runner is going out of bounds and modify or hold up on his momentum and tackle.  Instead, he continues at the same acceleration and drives himself into the pile which includes his teammate and the runner.  This act must be penalized.

 

Play #7 – There is no DPI on this play.  The defender is beaten and is approaching the receiver as the ball arrives.  The receiver does not make a big move back toward the ball which would have caused early contact and an obvious DPI call.  Instead he waits for the ball to arrive which happens just as the DB arrives.  Even thought the DB is not playing the ball, he doesn’t arrive early so we do not have DPI.  This is a very challenging, difficult call.