Calibration 9/1/21

Calibration Plays 9-1-21

 

  1. This is an unsportsmanlike foul on both players. Although we do not enforce two separate penalties, they are both considered to have one UNS and if either one, or both, were to be assessed an additional UNS they would be disqualified from the contest.  UNS foul on this play.  Option to enforce 15-yards on the PAT or the kickoff.
  2. This is a foul for an illegal shift. Breaking the huddle is considered a shift by rule and to complete a legal shift all 11 players must come to complete stop and set for 1 second.  In this case we see the receiver never set.  By rule and philosophy, we will not consider this a false start as there is no indication of him missing the count or simulating a snap.  Rather as he drifts, should he come to a complete stop and 1 second later the ball is snapped, then there would be no foul.  For this reason, we rule illegal shift which is a live ball foul.  We do not shut this play down.
    1. PS – There are only three illegal motion penalties and this is not one of them:
      1. Motion is toward opponent’s goal line
      2. Two players in motion at the snap
  • Player in motion who was on the LOS when he started and who is not 5-yards behind his LOS at the snap
  1. The offensive tackle does take a drop step and turns slightly to his side as he makes the low block. But it is our consensus that we’re “splitting hairs” if we judge this to be a delayed block.  One important element is the pad level of the blocker.  In this block the blocker’s shoulder pads never rise; thus he is going low in an initial and immediate act.  If the blocker’s pads were to rise, then we would judge this block to be delayed and illegal.  This block below the waist is legal.
  2. This play exemplifies our philosophy of “When in question, and it is not a safety call, it is no foul.” Initially the DB is in bad position and trailing the receiver slightly.  But he recovers and ends up with his shoulders in front of the receiver’s shoulders and is looking back for the ball.  The final contact between the DB and the receiver is where we had the split in judgement.  Some judged that the DB “cut off” the receiver and rode him out of bounds.  Others judged that the DB maintained his superior position and added nothing extra.  Final ruling is this is a 50/50 call we want to stay away from.  No foul.
  3. The defender has two options when defending against a defenseless receiver: get there early enough to make a play on the ball; or aim low (mid-section) and make a legal tackle (not spearing the receiver). This is a personal foul for excessive contact to a defenseless receiver.
  4. Same as the previous play but you can further specify that the foul for excessive contact to a defenseless player is targeting. Personal foul, targeting.
  5. The low block by the punt protector is not a foul and the defender has jumped and become airborne. By rule, for an illegal BBW the opponent must have one or both feet on the ground.  No foul.  The block by the return team member is a foul.  I could be considered a blindside block as the focus of the defender is not on the blocker until just before contact.  But the more significant component of this personal foul is the force of the block and it’s location.  A screening block would have been sufficient, or leading with the open hands would have been a successful block.  The contact is also to the head and neck area so we have a blocker taking aim and initiating forceful contact to the head and neck area.  Personal foul, targeting.
  6. This is another example of a foul where consensus was 50/50. Some felt the grab by the blocker was a gained advantage.  Others pointed out that the defender also was grabbing the blocker and the block was an “overpower” by a superior blocker.  The consensus was to leave this alone as we could not clearly and obviously judge holding.  No foul.
  7. This is a correct call for holding. The blocker grabs the right shoulder of the defender and uses that grab to restrict the defender from making an attempt on the runner who is well within his area to possibly make a play on runner.  Correct call for holding, grab and restrict.
  8. This is another correct holding call. The blocker immediately wraps his arms around the defender.  We call this action a “lobster block”.  This action is of in itself, not a foul, yet.  In this case he uses it to turn the defender’s shoulders slightly away from the runner.  Then as the runner goes by, the defender’s left arm is being held by the blocker which prevents the defender from attempting a “wrap up” tackle.  If the runner were successfully tackled at this point, in spite of this grabbing action, then we would not judge it to be any advantage gained, so no holding.  But in this case the runner advances for approximately 10 additional yards.  Thus it is an advantage gained and a foul for holding, grab and restrict.
  9. There continues to be discussion of this play and a final judgment will be published immediately after the review on 9/15/21. Sorry for the delay but we want to present and accurate ruling on this safety foul.