Fumble

  • The replay official may always review whether a runner was down prior to fumbling the ball.

  • A play in which a runner fumbled, but was ruled down can be reviewed if there is a recovery (1) of the ball in the immediate continuing action after the fumble, (2) determined by the ruling officials on the field or (3) through video evidence, including the ball going out of bounds. The Replay Official should ask the on-field crew if they have a clear recovery (Rule 12-3-3d).

  • For a recovery to occur in the immediate continuing action, a player or players in the immediate vicinity of the loose ball must try for the recovery.

  • The ruling on the field is upheld if there is not a clear recovery or the ball does not go out of bounds.

  • Having a player end up with the ball, but not seeing how he gained possession, is not clear and obvious evidence of possession.

  • The ball goes back to the spot of the fumble when the ruling on the field is a touchdown, but replay determines the ball was fumbled short of the goal line with no clear recovery in the end zone. Various scenarios can occur when the ball is dropped short of the goal line and then enters the end zone. Below are a few examples to assist in the adjudication of these plays:

    • Ball goes out of the end zone: Touchback.

    • Team B player falls on the ball in in the end zone: Touchback. 

    • Team A player recovers the ball in the end zone: Touchdown (assuming it is not fourth down or a try). 

    • No clear recovery of the ball in the end zone: Offensive team ball at the spot of the fumble.

  • A muff is an unsuccessful attempt to catch or recover a ball that is touched in the attempt (Rule 2-11-2). When trying to determine if a player possessed or muffed a ball, apply the same principles used when ruling if a player completes a catch.

  • By rule, possession of a loose ball can only occur with the hands or arms. Pinning the ball between the legs is not considered to be possession.

  • It is not a fumble if an airborne runner loses control of the ball but regains control and maintains control until he touches the ground with any body part other than a hand or foot.

  • If the officials on the field rule that a fumble did not touch the sideline or end line replay can review whether or not it did. If the officials rule the ball touched the sideline or end line replay can review whether it did, and if there is a clear recovery in the immediate continuing action replay can award the ball to that team.

  • Also reviewable is the recovery of a fumble in the field of play or the end zone.