College: 2-11-4

SECTION 11. Fumble, Muff; Batting and Touching the Ball; Blocking a Kick



a. Touching a ball not in player possession denotes any contact with the ball. It may be intentional or unintentional, and it always precedes possession and control.

b. Intentional touching is deliberate or intended touching.

c. Forced touching results when a player’s contact with the ball is due to (i) an opponent blocking that player into it, or (ii) the ball being batted or illegally kicked into that player by an opponent. If the touching is forced, the player in question by rule has not touched the ball (Rules 6-1-4 and 6-3-4)

d. When in question, a ball has not been touched on a kick or forward pass.

Approved Ruling 2-11-4 I. A punt is rolling along the ground near players A44 and B27 who are engaged. (a) The ball bounces against the B27’s leg and is then recovered by A55 at the B-35. (b) A44 blocks B27 into the ball which is then recovered by A55 at the B-35. RULING: (a) Team A’s ball, first and 10 at the B-35. The ball rolled into B27’s leg but A44’s contact did not cause him to touch the ball. Not forced touching. (b) Forced touching because the block by A44 caused B27 to touch the ball. Illegal touching by A55. Team B’s ball at that point.