ARTICLE 2. Forward progress is a term indicating the end of advancement by the ball carrier or airborne pass receiver of either team and applies to the position of the ball when it becomes dead by rule (Rules 4-1-3a, 4-1-3b and 4-1-3p; Rules 4-2-1 and 4-2-4; and Rule 5-1-3a Exception) (Exception:Rule 8-5-1a).
Approved Ruling 5-1-3 I. Airborne A88 gains firm control of a legal forward pass one yard within the opponent’s end zone. As A88 gains firm control the ball (a) he is contacted by B21 and A88 first comes to the ground on his knees at the one-yard line and maintains firm control of the ball: (b) A88 is contacted by B21 and A88 first comes to the ground on his feet at the one-yard line and maintains firm control of the ball. RULING: Touchdown in both (a) and (b) (Rule 5-1-3a Exception 2, 8-2-1b).
Approved Ruling 5-1-3 II. Receiver A88 runs a route deep into Team B’s end zone and circles back toward the QB A12 who throws the ball to A88. As A88 is coming back toward A12, A88 leaps and gains firm control of A12’s legal forward pass one yard within Team B’s end zone. Airborne A88 is not touched by a Team B player and first comes to the ground maintaining firm control of the ball at the one-yard line landing (a) on his knees; (b) on his feet. After A88 regains his balance, A88 runs and is downed at Team B’s five-yard line. RULING: Not a touchdown: (a) Team A’s ball at the B-1 where the ball is declared dead. (b) Team A’s ball at the B-5 where the ball is declared dead.
Approved Ruling 5-1-3 III. Airborne A2 receives a legal forward pass at Team A’s 35-yard line. As A2 receives the ball, he is contacted by B1 and first comes to the ground with the ball at Team A’s 33-yard line, where the ball is declared dead. RULING: Team A’s ball at the 35-yard line. This is the point of forward progress.
Approved Ruling 5-1-3 IV. A4, with the ball breaking the plane of the 50-yard line while in his possession, dives over the 50-yard line, which is the line to gain for a first down. He is knocked back to Team A’s 49-yard line, where any part of his body except his hand or foot touches the ground. RULING: First down at forward progress spot (Rule 4-1-3b).
Approved Ruling 5-1-3 V. A6 has the ball in his possession and is not controlled by an opponent, as he dives over the 50-yard line, which is the line to gain for a first down, and is forced back across the 50-yard line. A6 continues to run and is tackled at Team A’s 49-yard line, where any part of his body except his hand or foot strikes the ground. RULING: No first down. The point of forward progress is Team A’s 49-yard line.
Approved Ruling 5-1-3 VI. A5, with the ball breaking the plane of the goal line while in his possession, dives over the goal line and is knocked back to the one-yard line, where any part of A5’s body except his hand or foot touches the ground. RULING: Touchdown. The ball is dead when it breaks the plane of the goal line in A5’s possession.
Approved Ruling 8-2-1 I. Ball carrier A1, while attempting to score, strikes the pylon located on the right intersection of the goal line and sideline with his foot. He is carrying the ball in his right arm, which is extended over the sideline. RULING: Whether or not a touchdown is scored depends on the forward progress of the ball as related to the goal line when the ball becomes dead by rule (Rules 4-2-4d and 5-1-3a).
Approved Ruling 8-2-1 II. Ball carrier A1, advancing in the field of play, becomes airborne at the two-yard line. His first contact with the ground is out of bounds three yards beyond the goal line. The ball, in possession of the ball carrier, passes over the pylon. RULING: Touchdown (Rule 4-2-4d).
Approved Ruling 8-2-1 III. The ball, in possession of airborne ball carrier A21, crosses the sideline above the one-yard line, continues beyond the pylon and is then declared dead out of bounds in possession of A21. RULING: Ball is declared out of bounds at the one-yard line (Rules 2-12-1 and 4-2-4d).
Approved Ruling 8-2-1 IV. Quarterback A12 completes a forward pass to a teammate who is standing in Team B’s end zone. (a) A12 is beyond the neutral zone when he releases the ball. (b) The receiver is wearing uniform number 73. RULING: In (a) and (b) the result of the play is a touchdown. The penalty is completed according to Team B’s options.
Approved Ruling 8-2-1 V. Ball carrier A22 dives for the goal line at the B-1. The ball in his possession (a) touches the pylon; (b) goes over the top of the pylon; (c) crosses the goal line inside the pylon. A22 then first contacts the ground out of bounds three yards beyond the goal line. RULING: (a), (b) and (c) Touchdown in all three. The ball in A22’s possession has broken the plane of the goal line in all three scenarios.
Approved Ruling 8-2-1 VI. Ball carrier A22 heads for the right-hand pylon at the goal line. At the B-2 he dives or is blocked into the air by an opponent. The ball in A22’s right hand crosses the sideline at the B-1 and passes outside the pylon, and then A22 (a) touches the pylon with his foot or left hand; (b) first touches the ground out of bounds three yards beyond the goal line. RULING: (a) Touchdown. The goal-line plane is extended since A22 touches the pylon. (b) Not a touchdown. The goal-line plane is not extended because A22 did not touch either the pylon or the ground in the end zone. The ball is ruled out of bounds at the B-1.
Approved Ruling 8-2-1 VII. Ball carrier A22 heads for the right-hand pylon at the goal line. The ball in his right hand crosses the extension of the goal line outside (i.e., to the right of) the pylon, and then A22 steps (a) on the goal line; (b) on the sideline inches short of the goal line. RULING: (a) Touchdown. The goal-line plane is extended because A22 touches the ground in the end zone. (b) Not a touchdown. The goal-line plane is not extended. The ball is ruled out of bounds at the crossing point.
Approved Ruling 8-2-1 VIII. Ball carrier A22 heads for the right-hand pylon at the goal line. The ball is in his right hand. His foot hits the pylon just before the ball crosses (a) the pylon or (b) the extension of the goal line just to the right (outside) of the pylon. RULING: (a) and (b) No touchdown in either case. Because the pylon is out of bounds the ball is dead when A22’s foot hits it. Thus in both cases the ball is dead before it crosses the goal line.
Approved Ruling 8-2-1 IX. Ball carrier A1 is hit and his forward progress stopped inbounds near the goal line at the sideline to his right. When he is stopped he has the ball in his right hand extended beyond the goal line (a) inside the pylon; (b) outside the pylon. RULING: (a) Touchdown. The ball became dead when he extended it beyond the goal-line plane. (b) Not a touchdown, because no part of his body touches either the pylon or the end zone. In this case the goal-line plane is not extended.
Approved Ruling 8-5-1 I. A10, after receiving the snap in his own end zone, is downed with the ball resting on his goal line, its forward point being in the field of play. RULING: Safety. A part of the dead ball is on the ball carrier’s goal line.