2-25-2 Diagram

2-25-2 In PlayPic A No. 88 is not on his line because neither his head or foot breaks the plane through the snapper's waist. In PlayPic B No. 88 is legally on the line.

2-25-2 Only one player may not be on the line but still penetrate the vertical plane through the waistline of his nearest teammate who is on the line. This player (A) must be in position to receive a hand-to-hand snap, but does not have to actually receive it. By rule, he is the only player allowed to be positioned in “no man’s land” at the snap. All other players not on the line must be clearly positioned as backs. The player marked (B) is in an illegal position.