The replay official may always review whether a passer threw a forward pass or fumbled. If the passer's hand comes forward in an obvious forward passing motion with control of the ball it is considered a forward pass until the player clearly begins to bring the ball back down toward the player's body. If the ruling on the field is an incomplete pass but it is actually a fumble the replay official may review and award the ball at the spot of recovery. In this situation there must be a clear recovery in the immediate continuing action after the fumble either from video evidence or confirmation from the field, or the ball must go out of bounds in order for the recovering team to get possession at that spot. No advance will be given. If there is no clear recovery then the ruling on the field is upheld.
-
It is a fumble if the passer's hand comes forward with no ball or a loose ball (empty hand).
-
It is a fumble if the ball comes loose while the passer is bringing the ball back towards his body.
-
It is a pass if the ball comes loose at any point after the passer's hand starts forward until he starts to bring the ball back toward his body.