2-3-7 Diagram

2-3-7, 2-17-1, 2-17-2, 9-3-2 The initial contact in PlayPic A is above the waist. In PlayPic B, the blocker then loses contact and the blocker starts a new block below the waist, this is a foul. A block below the waist is legal if it occurs in the free-blocking zone, provided both players were on their lines of scrimmage and within the zone at the time of the snap and the block is an immediate, initial action following the snap.

2-3-7, 2-17-1, 2-17-2, 9-3-2 While in the free-blocking zone, the initial contact in PlayPic A is with the hands below the waist. When the blocker finishes the block below the waist as in PlayPic B, it is not a foul. A block below the waist is legal if it occurs in the free-blocking zone, provided both players were on their lines of scrimmage and within the zone at the time of the snap and the block is an immediate, initial action following the snap.

2-3-7, 2-17-2, 9-3-2 The rules regarding blocking below the waist apply equally to both teams. In the PlayPic, the defender goes below the waist outside the free-blocking zone to take out the lead blocker. This is an illegal block by the defender. A block below the waist is only legal if it occurs in the free-blocking zone, provided both players were on their lines of scrimmage and within the zone at the time of the snap and the block is an immediate, initial action following the snap.