Rule 10, Case 10

Quiz / Scenarios

1. The enforcement for any foul by the defense is the 20-yard line when the run ends in the end zone and would result in a safety.

Answer: False

2. The basic spot may, at the option of the offended team, be the succeeding spot for fouls by K during a free kick down (other than KCI) when K will not be the next to put the ball in play.

Answer: True

3. A, Try, B-3. A6’s kick is good for a 1 point. This ties the game at 24 with no time left on the clock. A defensive player is called for roughing the kicker.

Answer: b or c

4. During an attempted pass play, the QB is tackled behind the line of scrimmage. During the play, an eligible receiver is held beyond the line of scrimmage by a defensive player. The ES is the:

Answer: Previous spot

5. A, 3/5, A-27. An eligible receiver catches a legal forward pass at the A-37 and runs to the A-45, where he is tackled. During the pass, an offensive player holds a defensive player at the A-20. ES is:

Answer: A-27

6. K, 4/7, K-29. A scrimmage kick is touched by a kicker at the K-40. A receiver picks up the loose ball at the K-45 and returns it to the K-33, where he is downed. During the runback, a receiver blocks a kicker in the back at the K-43. ES is:

Answer: K-43

7. K 4/12 at the K-10. Team K is in a scrimmage kick formation and punts the ball to R18 who is in position to make the catch at the R-42 but gets bumped by K84 prior to the ball arriving. The ball touches K84 first at the R-42, and then R20 picks up the ball and runs to the K-40 yard line. 

Answer: All of the above

Rule

Questions

Insights

10.1

10.1.1

From what I can tell from the case, if we are using previous spot as the enforcement spot then it goes back to the position from the previous play. If enforcement spot is end of the run, then we go with the spot based on the result of the play. If enforcement spot is spot of the foul, do we then use the location of the foul or is it end of the play?                                10.1.1 SITUATION A: Where is the ball spotted following penalty acceptance when it is snapped from the right-side hash mark and the run ends in the left-side zone and the foul is: (a) illegal motion by A1; or (b) holding by A1 in the middle of the field behind the end of the run; or (c) grasping the face mask/helmet opening by B1 in making the tackle? RULING: In (a) or (b), it is spotted at the right-side hash mark. In (c), if the end of the play is beyond the line of scrimmage, the ball is spotted at the spot after the penalty is enforced from the end of the run. If the end of the play is behind the line of scrimmage, the ball is spotted on the right side hash mark. 

Context (part of rule or case): Where is the ball spotted after penalty enforcement.

10.1.2

10.1.3

10.1.4

10.1.5

10.1.6

10.1.7

10.2

10.2.1

10.2.2

I want to confirm my understanding of CLEAN HANDS - this just means that the team in possession after a turnover did not foul prior to the turnover meaning they will get to retain the ball. If B fouls after a change in possession - still get to keep the ball because they did not foul prior to the change in possession. If A fouls before change of possession, B must decline the penalty to keep the ball? Or only if B fouls after the change of possession as well?                                                                           That is correct. In either case if Team B fouls after change of possession they can keep the ball after enforcement. If Team A fouls prior to the change of possession. Then Team B must decline Team A's foul to keep the ball.

Context (part of rule or case): Clean Hands

10.2.3

Not sure which question your talking about but KCI penalty doesn't kill the play. Only a fair catch/invalid signal does. Therefore if there is no fair catch signal and the receiver is interfered with we would have a foul but that doesn't prevent any other receiver from recovering and advancing the kick.

Context (part of rule or case): Isn't the answer here only D? Under NHFS rules, the ball cannot be advanced during KCI. KCI is the spot of the foul plus the penalty enforcement.

10.2.4

10.2.5

 

If both teams have UNS, non-player fouls, or dead ball personal fouls - we just do the math and walk off whatever yardage remains, correct?                                                                                  We would walk off both penalties. Even if we end up in the same spot. It lets everyone know that the officials saw the action.

Context (part of rule or case): UNS, non player, or dead ball PF on both teams

10.2.5

Is the point of this case that we don't care who started the fight, just that both teams participated and therefore would both be penalized?                                                                                              We do need to know who started the fight for the CIF reports. We need to be as accurate as possible when the CIF get involved in handing down suspensions.

Context (part of rule or case): Situation B: Fighting by both teams

10.2.6

10.3

10.3.1

10.3.2

10.3.3

10.4

10.4.1

10.4.2

I cannot wrap my head around rule b to g. I need to see it or walk through it with someone who can explain this better to me. What is the best way to learn where to place the ball? It's my first year and I feel lost.                                                                 

Context (part of rule or case): The basic spot is the previous spot unless......

10.4.3

10.4.4

The case indicates that the enforcement spot for this scenario would be where the ball was pitched back (the run ended by a fumble or pass). How are we supposed to mark the spot of the pitch? And do we do this every time or just if there is a penalty? If we miss is, do we just use our best guess? 

This is a good catch. This might have been an editorial change because in the past their was no enforcement spot on backward passes. That is why we don't bean bag that.

Context (part of rule or case): Situation D: FSK penalty by B during the run, A pitches back after the penalty. 

10-4-4: From the 2024 rule book to the 2025 rule book, why did "Illegal Participation as in 9-6-4a and 9-6-4g" get removed with the basic spot being the spot of the foul? How should this be enforced now? 

10.4.5

10.4.6

10.4.7

10.4.8

If the run ends in the endzone it should be a TD. You have a change of position and the opposing team commits the foul so you should have a TD if the foul is denied. ? Need to read the entire rule. It says their own end zone. Not the opponents end zone.

Context (part of rule or case): ....Run ends in the endzone.

10.4.9

10.5.1

10.5.2

10.5.3

Penalty Enforcement Table 10-4