Rule 8, Case 8

Quiz / Scenarios

1. The QB passes for a TD. During the down, a defensive player commits pass interference.

Answer: A can accept the penalty and the TD and enforce the penalty on the try or on the kickoff

2. A receiver catches a punt at the R-1, takes a few steps forward and then runs into his end zone to avoid a tackler. The runner then takes a knee in the end zone.

Answer: R, Free kick, R-20, K scores a Safety

3. Overtime. A, Try, B-3. The A quarterback completes a pass to an eligible receiver for a successful 2 point try. A defensive safety is called for pass interference.

Answer: A can accept the score and enforce the penalty from the succeeding spot

4. A, 3/8, A-15. Back to pass, the QB fumbles at the A-5. While the ball is lying on the ground, nearly at rest at the A-3, a defensive player inadvertently kicks the ball over A’s backline. The most likely outcome is:

Answer: Touchback

5. A, 3/Goal, B-3. At the B-6, the QB pitches the ball forward toward an offensive player. A defensive player catches the ball at the B-2 and carries it into B’s end zone, where he is downed.

Answer: B, 1/10, B-2

6. The QB’s forward pass is intercepted by a defensive player and run back for a touchdown. During the runback, an offensive player uses his shoulder to blindside a defender.

Answer: Team B can accept the result of the play and have the penalty enforced on the try or the subsequent kickoff. The offensive blocker who fouled shall be disqualified if the foul is deemed to be flagrant

Rule

Questions

Insights

8.1

Table 8-1

8.2

I was not aware that you could score a touchdown and not have possession of the ball or am I reading that wrong? 

You are not wrong it is possible but very rare.

Context (part of rule or case): Art 1. c. It is a touchdown ........ While no player is in possession.

8.2.1

If the pylon was not placed correctly is the TD overturned?

It is still a judgement call. If it is a touchdown. It's a touchdown.

8-2-1 (Situation): Question, the situation implies that if the ball had touched the pylon before crossing the goal line it would not be a TD; however, the standard is if a runner touches the pylon with control of the ball, it would be a TD, correct? 

Context (part of rule or case): Ruling: ... Assuming the pylon was placed properly.

8.2.2

Fouls that happen on different downs can both be enforced / stacked. 

Context (part of rule or case): Situation E: Live ball foul by B during play that resulted in a TD for A, AND foul by B during the try.

8.2.3

8.2.4

8.2.5

Carryover Penalty - TD Table

8.3

How would the crew know if it has playoff implications? 

In SD the points don't matter for play-off qualifying. Game is over by rule

Context (part of rule or case): the try shall not be attempted unless the point(s) would affect the outcome of the game or play-off qualifying.

8.3.1

8.3.2

Please explain "A blocked field goal attempt which is not a try". If you kick a field goal is it not a try?
A PAT and field goal are two separate plays. On a blocked PAT once the kick fails the play ends. A blocked field goal the ball remains live. Think of a FG as a scrimmage kick.

Context (part of rule or case): Game officials must be aware that after a blocked field goal attempt, which is not a try, the ball remains live.

8.3.3

8.3.4

 

8.3.5

If during a successful try at the end of the 4th quarter Team B fouls, there is no option to enforce on the succeeding spot, correct? 

We need to read the rule correctly. There is a difference between the next kickoff and succeeding spot. The rule states next kickoff unless it is an UNS or PF. Any penalty other than a UNS or PF would be declined as there is no kickoff in OT but the PF and UNS would still be enforced.

Context (part of rule or case): If during a successful try, a foul by B occurs, A is given the choice of:

8.3.6

8.3.7

8.3.8

8.3.9

Carryover Pentaly -Try Table

8.4

8.4.1

8.4.2

8.4.3

Is it first due to yardage or due to roughing - thought roughing was auto first down not just yardage given this is a half the distance enforced 

Roughing is an automatic first down. In this case the yardage for the penalty and the yardage needed just happen to be the same.

Context (part of rule or case): 8.4.3 SITUATION: With fourth and 5 from B’s 18, K1’s field-goal attempt is successful. B1 roughs the kicker/holder. RULING: K may accept the result of the play (3 points) and have the penalty enforced from the succeeding spot, or accept the penalty. If the penalty is accepted and K retains possession, it will be first and goal from R’s 9-yard line. (9-4-5; 10-5-1f)

Carryover Penalty -FG Table

8.5

8.5.1

Is this a safety because the ball was never grounded? 

Team A is responsible for putting the kick into the end zone whether it is grounded or not.

Context (part of rule or case): Situation C: Kick from A's EZ muffed beyond NZ and rebounded into EZ and recovered by B. Result is safety

8.5.2

The second part of 8-5-2(c) regarding an illegal forward pass from A's end zone, says "and the penalty is declined"; but is it correct that if the spot of an illegal forward pass is in A's end zone, it is a safety, regardless if B accepts or declines the penalty? 

That is correct.

Context (part of rule or case): 8-5-2(c):A player on offense commits any foul for which the penalty is accepted and enforcement is from a spot in his end zone; or throws an illegal forward pass from his end zone and the penalty is declined in a situation which leaves him in possession at the spot of the illegal pass and with the ball having been forced into the end zone by the passing team.(JB)

8.5.3

Remember, a kick is a kick until it is no longer a kick. So a new force would not change the status of the kick until possession has been gained by R or K. 

Context (part of rule or case): Situation B:

8.5.4